2019 Trophy Series

This is your chance to bring it, runners! Place top 10 overall or Top 3 of your age group at a 2019 =PR= Trophy Series race and be entered into the Trophy Series database. At the end of 2019, you can win exclusive premiums in the Trophy Series by: 1) Placing Top 10 overall in male or female category, 2) placing Top 3 of Age Group in male or female category, or 3) participating in six or more of the Trophy Series races.

Trophy Series Qualifying Races
2019 Trophy Series Standings


What is the Trophy Series ?

The Trophy Series is a point-based system that designates points to runners who place in the top 10 overall or top 3 in their age group at any of our Trophy Series races (view Qualifying Races). After every race, points are calculated and updated for each runner. You can find all updates throughout the year in the 2019 Trophy Series Standings.

How are points calculated?

Overall Finishers

Male and Female categories will be broken down as following:

Place Points
1st 10
2nd 9
3rd 8
4th 7
5th 6
6th 5
7th 4
8th 3
9th 2
10th 1

Age Group Finishers

  • < 14
  • 15-19
  • 20-24
  • 25-29
  • 30-34
  • 35-39
  • 40-44
  • 45-49
  • 50-54
  • 55-59
  • 60-64
  • 65-69
  • 70-74
  • >75

1st in age group: 5 pts

2nd in age group: 3 pts

3rd in age group: 1 pts

NOTE: In order to win an overall or age group award, you must have the points and have participated in at least 3 PR Trophy Series Events. 

What races should I participate in to receive points for the 2019 Trophy Series?

Please refer to the Qualifying Races link at the top of this page. 

If I place in the top 10 overall at a race, do I still receive points for placing in my age group?

Yes. Runners who place in the overall top 10 of a race DO receive points for their age group placement. For example, the 1st place overall runner will receive 10 points for 1st place AND 5 points for being 1st in their respective age group.

How do I know my points are being calculated for me?

Anyone who runs any of our Trophy Series races will be automatically added to the point database. The database will be updated after every race and available to view on this page.

What is the last race of 2019 I can run to earn points?

The 2019 =PR= Trophy Series kicks off with For the Love of It in February 2019 and will conclude with the New Year’s Day 5k on January 1, 2020.

What awesome prizes can I win?

Awards will be presented to the top 10 overall (M/F) and top 3 age group winners (M/F). Runners who participate in at least six of our races will receive a special Trophy Series premium.

1st PLACE WINNERS OVERALL (M/F): Special trophy, a =PR= Races Certificate good for all 2020 =PR= races, plus the great swag awarded to the top 10 overall!

2nd PLACE WINNERS OVERALL (M/F): Special trophy,  a =PR= Races Certificate good for TEN 2020 =PR= races, plus the great swag awarded to the top 10 overall!

3rd PLACE WINNERS OVERALL (M/F): Special trophy  a =PR= Races Certificate good for FIVE 2020 =PR= races, plus the great swag awarded to the top 10 overall!

TOP 10 WINNERS OVERALL (M/F): =PR= Trophy Series premium swag 

TOP 3 AGE GROUP WINNERS (M/F): =PR= Trophy Series swag.

NOTE: Overall winners are still eligible for their age group Awards.


During 2019, I changed age groups (e.g., I was in the < 14 age group and I turned 15). What happens with my points?

Runners who change age groups during 2019 will not carry points forward into their new category. You must start from scratch for your new age group (15-19). However, it is still possible to win top 3 in your age group for < 14 from your "old" points while you were still in the < 14 age group. Keep in mind, you can not earn more that one age group award. You will only be awarded from the age group you placed higher in.

That being said, all points regardless of the age group you are in will be totaled for your overall standings result.

What if I earn top 10 overall and also place in my age group – can I receive awards for both?

Yes. Top 10 recipients will be included in age group awards. 

I’m not a top finisher overall or in my age group – can I still experience Trophy Series?

Yes! It’s time to prove you’ve got serious racing dedication! Participate in six or more of the qualifying races and receive a special Trophy Series swag! All runners who participant in 13 or more PR Trophy Series events will receive a special bonus award!

Who can I contact about Trophy Series?

Please don’t hesitate to contact Keira D'Amato, Keira@potomacriverrunning.com

Past Trophy Series Results

2018 Official Trophy Series Results

2017 Official Trophy Series Results

2016 Official Trophy Series Results

2015 Official Trophy Series Results  

2013 Official Trophy Series Winners

2012 Official Trophy Series Winners

2011 Official Trophy Series Winners